i trained for and ran the Lincoln Half-Marathon in 2004.

Ever since then, I have said I was going to run it again.

I made a half-hearted attempt to reprise my efforts in 2005, but was quick to blame my training failure on an aching left knee and the fact that my niece was born on the morning of one of the training races.

“well, there’s always next year”… i said…

and i said that again in 2006 and 2007 and 2008 and 2009.

then i said, “i ran it before my 25th birthday, and i will run it before my 30th birthday.”

and then i was pregnant. if you do the math, i was 33-weeks pregnant during the 2010 marathon. and of course, i didn’t do any sort of training that would have allowed me the ability to even walk 13.1 miles at that point.

So i started to say, out loud, “I will run it in 2011. No, seriously, I will.”

and then i had other pregnant friends agreeing with me.

this will be great, i thought, i have said it out loud, so i can’t go back now. plus, i have other people that are counting on me to train. AND, it will be great motivation to get back into shape.

done, and done.

except…………

i haven’t run since, oh, say, 2004.

i had planned a big blog post on December 1, 2010 – the date that they were to open the 2011 registrations. Heck, i even had visions of actually being one of the first to sign up. because if you do, then there’s really no turning back.

but they didn’t open registrations until a few weeks after December 1st.

and then, well, i had plenty of time.

so, i thought, maybe it will be a great New Year’s resolution. sign up, and start training.

um, do you have any idea how cold and snowy/icy it’s been around here since 1/1/11?

i have other friends that have signed up and were successfully training. and really, i could do a 12-week training regimen which would have set my first day of training on February 6. i could do a week of training and then sign up based on how well it went.

well, that would have been a week ago.

i didn’t start training.

in fact, i don’t think i even thought about any sort of running within the past week.

and now, my half-marathon-training-co-worker just informed me that it’s all sold out. (and corroborated here)

DAMN.

so, now i am taking the mental stance that it’s “Fate” and i just wasn’t supposed to run it this year.

see, it is in no way my fault that i wasn’t able to sign up.

and, there’s always 2012.

