hoarding tendnecies

OMG.

i joke about my hoarding tendencies, but seriously people?

AJ and i attacked our basement yesterday and came to the realization that i hoard cardboard boxes, and packing materials in general.

who does that?

This Girl, apparently.

every time i receive a box in the mail, i think, “Oh, now that’s a good looking box. if i ever have to mail something, it just might be the perfect size. and oh wait, i just may need those packing peanuts as well.”

so we got ourselves in to the habit of throwing said boxes down the stairs until we could barely wade through the basement, thus, never really wanting to go down there, thus leaving it to become the musty, scary grossness it has become.

we spent three hours (thanks MOM & DAD for playing with Baby B while we took this undivided time) and went to town.

i kid you not- i took a carload of more than 50 boxes of various sizes to the recycle bin. whew.

we’re 90% done with the clean-up/organization, and my brain feels 100% better.

AJ asked me last night if i would like to start doing my crafting down there, now that it’s tidy.

um, it may be tidy, but that doesn’t make it any less scary. thankyouverymuch.

now, if only i knew where to find a nice cardboard box… 😉

2 thoughts on “hoarding tendnecies

  1. I am the same way.. I keep boxes all the time and I have the same thought process as you. I think i will need the box for something or to store some in it one day. My husband is the opposite, he will throw away a box as soon as we get it. He hates that I keep the boxes. I always want to keep the box of an item in case it breaks and we have to return it. too funny.

  2. This is exactly what Mark and I have been tackling!! We got 1/2 of it done last Wednesday and plan on completing the job tomorrow! I know about “collecting” boxes. I have a tendency to do the same thing AND……if you buy something in a box (i.e. blender, etc.), you may need the box to return it someday;) BUT, I decided to get rid of them anyway!! Good luck with the completion of your project. I could think of other ways to spend time together, but am sure thankful that I don’t have to tackle the job on my own!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

