baby book

well, the latest thing that i can obsess over… the baby book.

we don’t have one yet. part of me feels like i am already late in the game. i guess i could be chronicling the whole darn pregnancy– but that’s what this Blog is for, right?

but i do want to take the baby book (whatever it may end up being) to the hospital to get those first foot prints…

so i googled “Baby Book’… do you even know how many options are out there? I didn’t like the one that was at my nearby Target… but sheesh… how’s a girl to decide.

and let’s be honest– i only just finished our Engagement scrapbook (3.5 years, people!)… do i really think i’ll keep up with a baby book?

anyone with suggestions on which ones are good? which contain the best information to follow?

do i really want to spent $50 or more on a baby book?

see… these are the things that really shouldn’t bug me… but they do.

oy vey!

4 thoughts on “baby book

  1. Hey Katie – I’m a friend of Brooke (from bubsicle) and I hope you don’t think I’m weird for commenting on your blog. 🙂 I have a 1 year old, so I was just down this road a year ago, so I thought I’d offer my two cents. If you’re really REALLY into scrapbooking/journaling/keeping notes, then by all means find the coolest book you can. But I’m terrible with that stuff, so I just got a fairly simple book (this one: http://www.amazon.com/Humble-Bumbles-Baby-Journal-characters/dp/1887169318/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1272494972&sr=8-1) and mainly use it to keep track of big things (teeth, hair cuts, etc.). Someone also gave me a “Baby’s 1st Year Calendar” that is GREAT to keep track of dates.

    But really? I use our family blog to keep track of the milestones as much as anything. They even have websites to turn your blog into a book if you wanted a print version. 🙂

  2. I read somewhere about a woman who kept a calendar hanging on the side of the crib and as she put baby to bed or down for a nap she jotted down any “milestones”, she also then added pictures from that month on the topside of the calendar. Sounds fun, and pretty easy to me!

  3. I can’t help but share my recommendations to you, Katie, and I have to admit that I was really good about journaling my pregnancy, and when she was little (because I knew I was so sleep deprived that I would forget alot) but since about 6 months I’m good to get the dates when her teeth come in and MAJOR milestones.

    I loved loved loved this journal for pregnancy http://www.amazon.com/Weeks-Essential-Pregnancy-Organizer-Organizers/dp/0976647915/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1272576605&sr=1-5

    And I used this journal faithfully until she was about 5-6 months. http://www.amazon.com/Weeks-Essential-Pregnancy-Organizer-Organizers/dp/0976647915/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1272576605&sr=1-5. But now I’m good to get one thing written each week.

    Like above, I had a calendar with stickers for alot of firsts from Hallmark that prompted me with a few things to document.

    And a friend of mine got a looseleaf book from http://www.babysakes.com and she absolutely loves it, so I’ll probably do that for baby #2.

  4. I bought one at Hallmark that I really love. It was about $30 bucks and has each month and year until they are five. And it has a place for footprints!

Leave a Reply

