Imagine it’s 1988, you’re a young girl in Denver, listening to the radio and you hear a song called “Please Don’t Go Girl,” and you think to yourself “who is this girl, singing with these boys, telling another girl not to go anywhere? Weird!”

Then, the hysteria unfolds, and before you know it, you (the 8-year-old girl you are pretending to be… remember?) are so wrapped up in it all, you are listening to the songs whenever you can, you are begging your mom for the latest copies of TEENBEAT and BOP! to get your hands on exclusive photos of these New Kids On The Block (and an occasional Chad Allen or Kirk Cameron… details).

You realize, that wasn’t a girl singing, it was Joey McIntyre, and he’s not the one with the highest voice in the group — when that Jordan Knight kicks into that falsetto, you melt… if only he didn’t have that nasty two-foot-long braided rat-tail….And as time progresses, you decide that Jon (Jordan’s older, yet quieter brother) is more your type, plus, you don’t have to fight over him with all the other girls at school. And boy, do you spend every minute of recess talking about the boys, dancing like the boys, singing their songs and dreaming of that chance encounter you will one day have, when they will look in your eyes and say “Oh, OhOh, you’re my Cover Girl…”… ahhh…

I never did get to go to a New Kids Concert in the 80’s. I was sad, but I sucked it up, and told myself that seeing the Jackson 5 Reunion Tour of ’83 was a highlight and I am very lucky.

The we moved to Lincoln. I met new friends. I asked one, “So, do you like the New Kids?” oh-so prepared to spend the next two hours gushing over Danny, Donnie, Joey, Jordan and Jon… but her response was a brief and unintersted, “No.”… and there ended my first boy-band love. Right there. Yes, Step By Step was released, and i listened along, but there was no dancing on the pink carpet of my bedroom. I carefully packed up my TEENBEATs and BOPs and eventually gave away my two beloved New Kids night shirts, red and teal, respectively.

Looking back, I realize that I tried to fill the void in my heart with the Backstreet Boys and *NSYNC… and that did work – especially finally going to the concerts and screaming along with the 14-year-olds (okay, i was almost 20, what’s your point?)… never did I imagine that I might have the chance to see the New Kids back together again.

That is, until Tuesday, November 11, 2008 – Kansas City – Sprint Center… Oh, Baby, Oh! Add three friends, a trip to Wal-Mart for some 80’s inspired attire and you have a recipe for awesomeness!!!!!  The Boys were awesome. Floating somewhere around 40, they all danced, bopped and sang quite well. I was impressed. Moreso, was I impressed by the crowd. Not a child in sight – all the screams were from women (and some men) also there reliving some back-in-the-day dream! It was kind of cool!

Brooke, Kerry, Stephanie & Katie
Brooke, Kerry, Stephanie & Katie
