ok- so here’s a story from “Not At All Fun Times With The Becker’s”… yesterday… early – 1:30am – lucy is barking — but its not really a “i have to potty” bark… more of an “i’m gonna get you” bark… but AJ gets up and let’s her out. Then at 3, same thing, so i get up to let her out – weird thing is that THOR is down there with her – he’s usually up near us. i don’t think much of it, because its 3am… i let her out, she potties. put her back in the kitchen and head back to bed.

8ish i finally wake up for good, walk down the wooden stairs in my slippers and hit the third-to-the-last step wrong and bump all the way down on my left side… roll around on the floor for a bit, seeing stars and hoping AJ will hear the comotion – he doesn’t… run to the bathroom b/c i think i am going to puke– but don’t… then get the dogs and snuggle in my own misery and watch Harry Potter and knit (trying to make the day better)… AJ finally comes downstairs and says he didn’t hear a thing – i must be a quiet faller… ?

so then, my big plan for the day was to clean– but now my left butt hurts and my elbow was quickly bruising, and heck, if AJ got to go hunting all day, i could sit around in my pajamas, forego the lysol and lay around with my pooches… “27 Dresses” was up next, and darnit, i was gonna watch the whole thing. yea me!

but, i must admit, this day still had a funny feel to it….

around 1pm, i decide to get my butt up, and do some crafty stuff. i was heading to mom and dad’s at 2 and wanted to make them a thanksgiving wreath, and work on mine– yea for glue guns… my personal “Gun” of choice! i started gluing a few things and quickly realized i was going to need backup – so i went to grab the trash can from under the sink to set next to me… as i do… what’s sitting on top snacking on the leftovers from my lunch? the tiniest, scariest, gray mouse…. YUCKO!!!!!!!!!! i was inches from it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i looked at him, he looked at me… insert blood-curdling scream and envision tiny mouse and its extra long tail dart one way, whilst i darted the other… grab phone and panic while calling the hunting husband… silly me – you don’t take cell phones hunting – unless your ringer happens to be a Phesant Warble… then, i call my mom, because, naturally, she’s going to be able to help from four miles away. and she really did. she calmed me down and sent dad to help.

Thus, and therefore, i spent the next 17 minutes sitting in the 40-degree weather waiting for my daddy, while the tiny terror did goodness-know’s-what in my kitchen!  Dad was kind enough to set four traps, and I packed my things and got the hell out of there. I went to my mommy’s, and i didn’t go home until the Hunter returned to hunt rodent corpses. Not until i received the full coroner’s report did i return to Cleveland Avenue.

and, i do believe, i am yet to take a full breath. And, now we know what Lucy was hunting for in the middle of the night….

Lord Help Me!

